Language and culture preparation


Spanish is the second most natively spoken language in the world, after Mandarin Chinese. Most Spanish speakers are in Middle and South America. Only Spain and Equatorial Guinea are outside America.

Spanish is an official language of Argentina, Bolivia , Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, Uruguay and Venezuela. Spanish is widely spoken also in many other countries, especially in the United States. Puerto Rico, a Commonwealth of the United States has Spanish as its official language.

Spanish is recognised as one of the official languages of many interational organisations like the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization of American States, the African Union, the Union of South American Nations, and the Caribbean Community.

Spanish is the fourth most widely studied second language in Western Europe after English, French, and German. Spanish language teaching is mandatory in both public and private secondary schools in Brazil. In United States, Spanish is the most widely taught language after English.